origin-1Alternate Titles: Giniro no Kami no Agito, Agito with Silver Hair, 銀色の髪のアギト

Producers: Gonzo, FUNimation Entertainment (licensing), Aiko, Yahoo! Japan

Genres: Adventure, Drama, Fantasy, Romance, Sci-fi

Rating: 13+

Let’s watch an environmentalist anime film!

tumblr_m9rje3H1oE1ql5vve

You know what, I have never liked these kinds of stories. There’s just something about the whole “modern human civilization is bad and we should just let nature be free~”. I don’t like it. Cities are not bad as the story makes them seem. Many people live in cities. There are also people who live out in nature and that’s okay too. But saying that we all MUST “coexist” with nature? No way, I’d rather control it and live in my clean and comfy house rather than a makeshift hut in order to “coexist” with it. Well, that’s enough on my bias.

Continuing on, the quality of the animation is outstanding (reminds me of Studio Ghibli, but it’s not, it’s Gonzo). The setting of which this story takes place is one of my favorites (a broken, ruined city kind of setting). It is interesting to see how the people of Neutral city make use of their surroundings in order to live. Because it really does look cool.

Neutral City

It contrasts greatly with the city built by the Ranga army (couldn’t catch the city’s name).

Here's that big cloud of pollution. See? City=Bad

Here’s that big cloud of pollution. See? City=Bad

I would definitely listen to the music the music again. It was lovely and fitted nicely with the action. The opening was my favorite, even if there were plant creatures blowing up the moon.

I didn’t care for any of the characters, especially those who thought it was a great idea to turn into a tree. And those forest girls scared me out of my wits. Plants become intelligent beings. Who in their right mind would do such a thing? Oh yeah, some guy did all for the sake of his ego. Haha. That’s not surprising.

Ah well. I rate this movie 3 out of 5. The animation quality and music give it justice. I could care less about the “protect the forest” crap.

