39629Episodes: 13

Status: Complete

Producers: Bandai Visual, FUNimation Entertainment (licensing), Lantis, Kodansha, Kinema Citrus, Memory-Tech, Bushiroad Inc.

Genres: Action, Comedy, School, Shounen, Super Power, Supernatural

Rating: 17+

Riding the bus one day, Sakura Sakurakouji looks out the window to see people being burned alive with a blue fire as a boy her age remains unharmed and stands over the people. When she goes back to the site the next day, there are no corpses or evidence of any kind of murder, just a small fire. When Sakura goes to class, she discovers the new transfer student is the same boy she saw the day before. Sakura soon learns that he is Rei Ogami, the sixth “Code: Breaker,” a special type of assassin with a strange ability and a member of a secret organization that serves the government. (Source: wikipedia; I got lazy again).

I have finally finished the series! I was disappointed. I thought it would be better considering the first few episodes, but what’s one to expect from a 13 episode anime coming from a 200+ chapter manga? There might as well be a second season.

Story-wise, it was interesting at the beginning. A concept that I hadn’t seen in a while, people with special abilities that work for the government. It would have really pulled me in if it had continued to move along the way it had at the beginning. The last few episodes fall a bit flat, especially the last episode. And of course there’s this Sakura going “YOU CAN’T KILL PEOPLE!” to no avail. Girl… this is these people’s JOB, leave them alone, sheesh. Which was probably the only really annoying part. Too bad the cool bad guy, Hitomi, died at the end and the prime minister had to be a complete ass about it (spoiler!). Whatever.

I liked the characters, excluding Sakura, and watching them all use their powers was enjoyable (though I wish they had explained more on what Ogami’s true power was. It seemed to be like some kind of add-on laced at the ending). Ogami got a bit soft at the end though; wasn’t expecting that. He still left Sakura without saying anything though.

Fuu… I don’t have much else to say. It was ok, I guess? It certainly wasn’t terrible but it’s a 3 out of 5 since there was some things left unexplained. I can’t elaborate any more on it because it didn’t hook me as much as other series such as Magi or Psycho-Pass (other series in the fall 2012 season).

Now I leave you with a few fanarts to make up for my lack of a review (I don’t own any of these, of course, they belong to the artist):

Code-Breaker.600.1006182

Fujiwara.Toki.full.1371287

Code-Breaker.full.1313016

Tenpouin.Yuuki.600.1341507

Code-Breaker.600.1117168

