Free!.full.1540502

Hi! Hi! Sorry I haven’t been writing any reviews lately (not sorry, just lazy). I’ve come back with a first impressions review on seven of the new summer anime series. Of course they are all short (no summary this time with one exception) and biased but you knew that already, right? So let’s begin with the most anticipated swimming anime.

Free!

After waiting months with all the hype produced by its fandom, I was quite excited when this anime finally came out. I mean… how could I not being considered that it was aimed towards teenage girls with those ripped bodies belonging to the main characters. Ah… (I don’t think you get those just by swimming).

I probably shouldn’t have expected a deep story because most of this is just fanservice. Not that fanservice is bad… and this is only the first episode… Given there were a few flashbacks, there is a plot, I just don’t know what that plot is yet other than beating the rival. (It’s not my fault I didn’t pay close attention… those muscles…).

Haru is my favorite character because all he thinks about is swimming and I cannot tell you how many times that characteristic has been made fun of.

Well… I wanna see more swimming and more butts so I’m going to continue watching this. And here are some highlights~

Wait for it...

Wait for it…

OH!

oh

Is this normal?

Is this normal?

Thought that was crack for a second.

Thought that was crack for a second.

Oh! I know what that means!

Oh! I know what that means!

Say "pool" and Haru will strip right then and there.

Say “pool” and Haru will strip right then and there.

Thought it couldn't get any worse?

Thought it couldn’t get any worse?

EVERYONE IN THIS ANIME IS RIPPED OKAY? EVEN THE GIRLS

EVERYONE IN THIS ANIME IS RIPPED OKAY? EVEN THE GIRLS

802377107_orig

Brothers Conflict

Another otome! Let’s see how this one goes. It certainly starts off better than Amnesia, not boring me out of my mind, and seems like it’ll turn out decent as far as otome anime go.

Ema Hinata isn’t any different from your regular otome heroine but at least she has her pet squirrel, Juli, who warns her to stay away from the “wolves.” And there are 13 brothers I don’t even… A bunch of them have the same names from other series I know: Kaname, Subaru, Ukyo… but that’s nothing one has to note on.

We’ll see how this goes since the scene at the beginning does imply that something’s gonna go down.

shit's about to go down

Shit’s gonna go down. I can feel it (or they’re kissing each other in the back idk).

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

God abandoned the world on Sunday. As a result, nobody in the world can die or reproduce. A little girl, Ai, is the gravekeeper for a village. She has prepared 47 graves for the eventual deaths of every member of the village. Later, a boy who identifies himself as “Hampnie Hambart, the ‘Man-eating Toy’,” which is coincidentally the name that Ai’s mother left behind as the name of her father, arrives in the village and slaughters everybody. Just what is going on?

(took summary from MAL because I got lazy… again…)

It’s certainly an interesting subject to make a series on, but not one I’m comfortable with. I’m still not sure whether to continue watching or not. I’ll give it a few more episodes.

Oh, and then the irony of everyone dying and the girl had already dug graves for them. Haha.

Dangan-ronpa.600.1445955

Dangan Ronpa

I know Dangan Ronpa’s fandom had been waiting for this for months as well. It is based on the popular psp game (which has been translated into English btw) and… I dunno. I have the same problem with this as I do with Kami-nai. Well, that may be until they start killing one another and then it might get me completely hooked.

(I had watched a demo of the game a while ago and they start holding a court session to figure out who the murderer is, right? And if they’re correct then that student is dead? That’s what I remember.)

BloodLad_poster

Blood Lad

Yes, I did read the manga beforehand and I’ve got to say that so far it’s pretty good (well that’s true for most first episodes). The animation style is reminiscent of the manga and it is still quite entertaining since Staz is such a cool character in his own way~

Makai Ouji: Devils and Realist

I don’t give a fuck. That opening scene was more gay than Free! And then of course concepts of nephilim and King Solomon aren’t even used correctly; the author just uses the names and does whatever the heck he wants to fit it and the pisses me off. So I’m not continuing this series, there’s not enough to keep my attention anyway. Plus I hate the realist main character.

sub27

Uchouten Kazoku

Well, this is a refreshing series. Uchouten Kazoku is set in Kyoto where there are three kinds of creatures: humans, tanuki, and tengu.

Mah… the first episode doesn’t leave one with much except for a bunch of questions which are most likely to be answered with the continuation of the series. But it does establish the setting and introduces the characters. Character designs are simple and the background is very appealing.

In the end, I just want another episode.

There we go! Wasn’t much of a review was it? I have a bunch of other things to say but either I’m too lazy to type them out or too I’m embarrassed. Ah…

Anyway, there is also Monogatari that came out, but I’m waiting until it finishes airing so I can watch without having to wait a whole week for another episode. There’s also a few older series that I’ve added to my watching list even though I already have enough. Haha.

Hopefully I can get my summer homework done and write a few decent reviews. Upcoming ones might be on Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love 2000%, Karneval, or Hellsing (manga).

For fall season, there’s the second season of Kuroko no Basket and Diabolik Lovers. So yep, can’t wait! ^U^

