tumblr_n0it9v64741qkonr7o1_500

Welcome back! I haven’t posted anything at all since June and now it’s the end of August! I’m in in despair because I have to go to school, however, it is my final year of high school! Yay~! I’m planning on majoring in graphic and web design owo

Besides that, I have been watching various series from this year’s summer anime (you can see which ones on my MAL) and I’ve become obsessed with JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure! I watched the 2012 anime adaptation of parts 1 and 2 and I’m currently watching the 2014 Stardust Crusaders adaptation. I also read parts 3 through 6 of the manga and currently trying to read part 7. So far, Joseph and Jolyne are my favorite Jojos while I’m head over heels for a pile of garbage called Dio Brando. owo

Anywho, have this quick anime review blurb I started writing back in March.

~

Mawaru Penguindrum

2012-08-12-521760

I did not expect an anime with chubby, chibi penguins to be so intense. I was expecting something cute and a little melancholic, but instead I was slammed with something so tragic and thought provoking that it left me shocked at the end of the last episode.

However, I thought it’s pacing was just perfect. In 26 episodes there were no fillers and the series did not seem too rushed. Along with a genuinely engaging plot and a varied soundtrack that was just a treat for the ears, Mawaru Penguindrum did not disappoint me at all. I especially liked the use of the apple and penguin motif. It’s definitely an anime worth viewing, even though I had it on hold for a really long time.

~

Puella Magi Madoka Magica

Damn you, Kyubey.

~

DIABOLIK Lovers

This pic was part of Rejet's April Fool's Day joke this year. Me: "Ayato-sensei! Please remove my bad blood with your fangs~!"

This pic was part of Rejet’s April Fool’s Day joke this year.
Me: “Ayato-sensei! Please remove my bad blood with your fangs~!”

I figured the series would pretty much go downhill after episode one. The anime is split into two distinct parts: the first six episodes are various scenarios with each Sakamaki brother and the last six episodes are plot-oriented, focusing on Yui and her connection to the demon king’s daughter, Cordelia. The first few episodes are entertaining since they remind me of the situations in the drama cds, however, I STILL DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY AYATO THREW YUI INTO THE POOL OMG THAT DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE.

Yeah, I can somewhat agree with people who say the the DIABOLIK Lovers anime is bad, because it pretty much is. I still really like the first episode because it shows the viewer what they are going to expect. And to anyone who has watched the anime and has not played the games (or at least read the summaries of the games): the writing of DIABOLIK Lovers is not shit (if anything is shit, it’s More Blood) or “rapey.” Yes, it is dark and chock full of stressful, non-consensual situations for Yui. Yes, a lot of what the Sakamaki brothers do to Yui is horrible! However, reading about what happened to the brothers in their childhoods helps in understanding why they act the way they do. It is NO justification for what they did to Yui, only an explanation. All of their childhood’s are some of the saddest pasts ever… *sobbusobbu* (HDB really needs to be translated…).

But the OST of the anime is BEAUTIFUL. It’s just as good as the ost of the games~ I love it.

On a final note, I am playing DIABOLIK Lovers: More Blood (using akui’s translations) and have already finished Laito’s route! Oh, it was hell when the whole Adam thing happened. I just wanted to slap Laito senseless because of his horribleness and take Yui away with me. Karl still didn’t explain anything about what Adam and Eve thing was supposed to be. No spoilers please; I still need to play the rest of the game (which will take me another three years…).

I’m also excited for the two new games: Vandead Carnival and Dark Fate! Shin and Carla are so cool~ They can turn into wolves! Shin is a cutie while Carla should have been a bara, seriously. I listened to their versus before the other’s (I still need to listen to volumes two and three and various More Blood cds as well OAO) and was very intrigued. I am now incredibly curious about what the founding brothers want with my precious Yui.

~

You can see which anime I am currently watching at my anime list @ http://myanimelist.com/profile/analumii

Hope you had a great summer! ~Innasuu

